The Health of Nations: Why Inequality Is Harmful to Your Health

By: Ichiro Kawachi (Author)

Price: $30.95

Quantity: 1 available


More Description

Applying to the United States the kind of scrutiny that Nobel -- prize winning economist Amartya Sen has devoted to developing countries, The Health of Nations demonstrates that growing inequality is undermining health, welfare, and community life in America. Harvard professors Ichiro Kawachi and Bruce P. Kennedy review the social costs of inequality, revealing that the United States and other wealthy countries with high levels of social inequality have lower general health than do more equitable societies, rich or poor. The Health of Nations makes an urgent argument for social justice as the necessary vehicle for the betterment of society, including improving the health of our bodies and our body politic.

Synthesizing years of groundbreaking research on the connections between social structures and health and welfare, Kawachi and Kennedy show that the cost of inequality is greater than we realize. They dramatically demonstrate that growing inequalities, far from being a benign by-product of capitalism, threaten the very freedoms that economic development is thought to bring about: freedom from want, freedom from ill health, freedom to exercise democratic choice, and freedom to pursue leisure and happiness. In the vein of Robert D. Putnam's Bowling Alone, The Health of Nations is a major new work of social science with dramatic implications for public policy.

Title: The Health of Nations: Why Inequality Is Harmful to Your Health

Author Name: Ichiro Kawachi (Author)

Categories: Other,

Publisher: U.S.A., The New Press: 2002

ISBN Number: 156584582X

ISBN Number 13: 9781565845824

Binding: Hard Cover

Book Condition: Good

Seller ID: 128709

Description: Good condition. Has scuffing. The Health of Nations: Why Inequality Is Harmful to Your Health By Ichiro Kawachi (Author) Product Details Hardcover: 240 pages Publisher: The New Press (September 1, 2002) Language: English ISBN-10: 156584582X ISBN-13: 9781565845824 Product Dimensions: 0.8 x 6.2 x 8.5 inches

Keywords: The Health of Nations: Why Inequality Is Harmful to Your Health